## HELEN NEWTON TURNER MEDAL TRUST

The Helen Newton Turner Medal Trust was established in 1993 following an anonymous donation to the Animal Genetics and Breeding Unit.

The Helen Newton Turner Medal is awarded to provide encouragement and inspiration to those engaged in animal genetics. The Medal is named after Dr Helen Newton Turner whose career with CSIRO was dedicated to research into the genetic improvement of sheep for wool production. The Medallist is chosen by Trustees from the ranks of those persons who have made an outstanding contribution to genetic improvement of Australian livestock.

The Helen Newton Turner Medal was first awarded in 1994 to Associate Professor JohnJames and a list of all recipients to date is given below. The recipient of the Medal is invited to deliver an Oration on a topical subject of their choice. The Oration of the 2007 Medal recipient, Mrs Lucinda Corrigan, is reproduced in these proceedings.

Trustees of the Helen Newton Turner Trust are:

- Dr Richard Sheldrake (Chairman), representing NSW Department of Primary Industries
- Professor Brian Kinghorn, representing the University of New England
- Dr. Scott Dolling, representing the Association for the Advancement of Animal Breeding and Genetics
- Dr Roly Nieper, representing the National Farmers' Federation
- Dr. Hans-Ulrich Graser, Director, Animal Genetics and Breeding Unit

## **MEDALLISTS**

1994	J.W. James	2001	G.A. Carnaby
1995	L.R. Piper	2003	F.W. Nicholas
1997	J. Litchfield	2005	K. Hammond
1998	J.S.F. Barker	2007	Lucinda Corrigan
1999	C.W. Sandilands		